What is Tourist Development Tax?
Tourist Development Tax is a 5% tax on the total rental amount collected from every person or other party who rents, leases, or lets for consideration living quarters or accommodation in any hotel, apartment hotel, motel, resort motel, apartment, apartment motel, rooming house, mobile home park, recreational vehicle park, or condominiums for a period of 6 months or less. This tax is collected by the Monroe County Tax Collector pursuant to Monroe County Code, Chapter 23, “Taxation,” Article VI, as authorized by Florida Statute 125.0104. The local Tourist Development Tax is in addition to the 7.5% State of Florida Sales and Use Tax remitted to the Florida Department of Revenue.
Who Must Collect the Tax?
Any person (business) who rents or leases any transient accommodations for a period of 6 months or less.
How Much is the Tax?
Who is Exempt?
Any person who has entered into a bona fide written lease for longer than six (6) months in duration for continuous residence.
Any person who has continuously resided for 6 months and has paid the tax imposed for this time shall become exempt on the seventh month and every month thereafter provided he or she continues to reside at the same location.
Anyone who is exempt from paying state sales tax. These include federal government employees and other government agencies (state, county, city, etc.), full-time students, active duty military personnel, churches, and nonprofit organizations that have a sales tax exemption number from the Florida Department of Revenue.
When is the Tax Due?
The tourist development tax is due to the Tax Collector’s Office monthly. It is due on the 1st day of the month following the reporting period and becomes delinquent if not paid or postmarked by the 20th day of the month following the reporting period. All owners/operators must submit a return even if no taxes were collected for the month.
What Happens When the Tax Becomes Delinquent?
If the return and payment are not paid by the 20th of the month following the reporting period, the collection allowance is forfeited. This applies to online filers. All returns mailed are no longer eligible for the collection allowance. In addition penalty and interest are assessed. The penalty is 10% of the tax due for each month or fraction of a month that the return is delinquent. The penalty is a minimum of $50, up to a maximum of 50% of the tax due. The interest rate is variable. You will need to contact the tax collector’s office at (305) 295-5058 for the current rate.
When You Terminate Management of a Unit or Rental Unit.
Notify the Tourist Tax Department in writing, on your letterhead the date you terminated, the location of the unit, the owner’s name and current mailing address. The tourist tax account will be updated.
For your convenience, we allow online payments for Tourist Development Tax through Tourist Express. Property owners that have signed up for Tourist Express are entitled to deduct 2.5% of the first $1,200.00 of tax due, or a maximum of $30.00 if the return is paid by the 20th day of the month following the reporting period. In order to be eligible for Tourist Express, the property owner must already have an active Tourist Development Tax account.
Application for Monroe County Tourist Development Tax
Applications for Rental Companies and Property Managers
- Application for Rental Companies and Property Managers
- Owner/Agent Agreement
- Consolidated Tax Returns
Fill out and mail completed forms to:
Sam C. Steele, CFC
Monroe County Tax Collector
Attn: Tourist Development Dept.
PO Box 1129
Key West, FL. 33041-1129